Biotechnology is a field full of promise. But with expensive laboratory equipment and skilled instructors often in short supply, too few middle and high school students are able to develop the high-tech skills they would need to pursue careers in this field.

That’s changing, thanks to the Amgen Biotech Experience (ABE), which works to advance STEM education in secondary schools across the United States. EDC operates the Program Office for ABE, providing a variety of essential functions—including technical assistance, resource development, and program site support—while helping to improve access to STEM education around the world.

Key Activities

EDC’s role as the Program Office for ABE includes the following activities:

  • Provide teacher professional development, curriculum materials, and research-grade equipment and supplies to secondary schools
  • Lead communications and outreach efforts
  • Work alongside the Amgen Foundation to advance the ABE program


  • ABE has reached nearly 600,000 students in the United States, Ireland, and the United Kingdom.
  • Each year, over 75,000 students and hundreds of science teachers participate in ABE.
  • Preliminary research results show that ABE students have significant and substantial gains in both biotechnology learning and interest as well as confidence in doing science and biotechnology.
  • ABE received a rating of “Accomplished” by Change the Equation.
  • In 2015–2016, 40 percent of ABE-participating schools in the United States were Title 1.

Learn More

Amgen Foundation

Dublin City University , Front Range Community College, Georgetown University, Harvard University, Pierce College, San Diego Miramar College, San Diego Workforce Partnership, Shoreline Community College, University College Dublin, University of California-Berkeley’s Lawrence Hall of Science, University of Hertfordshire, University of Puerto Rico-Humacao, University of Rhode Island

Bodies of Work